8th Mar, 2018
Women’s Day » Women in Leadership » Female Prime Ministers

Female Prime Ministers

Female Prime Ministers

The world where patriarchy has been the way of life from ages, it’s not less than a challenge to sit at the highest positions of the country. Irrespective of the place a woman is born, be it India or Australia or USA, the day she is born she has to take up the challenge to prove her worth. Right from the womb her mother she keeps on listening to people’s hate for a girl child. One can imagine the struggle she has to face to make her dreams true. The good news is that many of these women have proved their worth by coming successful through the pitched battle.

Here is a list of some female Prime Ministers around the country, who have crossed the entire hurdle and taught the world that the power of women should not be underestimated, she can be better and more organized leaders than their male counterparts.

1. Theresa May, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2016)
Theresa May Theresa has been serving as the leader of the conserve party and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom since 2016 July. Also she has served as the member of the Parliament since 1997 of Maidenhead. She is the 2nd female Prime minister of the country after Margaret Thatcher. She served as an employee of the bank of England from 1977 to 1983 and later from 1985 to 1997 under the Association for payment clearing services. She also has served from 2002-03 as the chairman of the Conservative Party.

2. Beata Szydło, Poland (2015)
Beata Szydło Beata Maria Sydlo has been serving as the Prime Minister of Poland from 2015. Before getting elected to the Prime minster position, she has very successfully led the Andrzej Duda presidential campaign who was the Presidential candidate for the 2015 elections. Other than that she has also served as the vice-chairman of the law and justice party. She is the first woman to succeed a woman in the office and the third female Prime Minister of the country.

3. Maya Ivanovna Parnas, Transnistria (2015)
Maya Ivanovna Parnas Parnas was born in the state of Tiraspol in Moldavian SSR in 1974, May 15. She is a well known Politian and was elected as the Prime Minister of the country in 2015. In 2012 she served as the Deputy Prime Minister for Economic Development and Finance.

4. Vasiliki Thanou, Greece (2015)
Vasiliki Thanou Vasiliki Thanou formed her caretaker cabinet upon the resignation Syriza-ANEL Government and as a result of the opposition parties failing to form a Government. Thanou, the President of the Court of Cassation took oath as the Prime Minister of the country on August 27, 2015 and the cabinet was there in the office till the legislative elections in 2015. She was the senior judge at court of Cassation in 2015, President of the Appeals court from 2005-15.

5. Natalia Gherman, Moldova (2015)
Natalia Gherman She has served as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for European Integration and Foreign Affairs from 2013 to 2016. She was born to the first President of Moldova in 1969 in Chisinau. She did her post graduation from King’s College London and Graduation from the Maldova State University. She has worked from 2002 to 2006 as the Ambassador of Austria and representative of OSCE. She has also worked for Moldovan diplomatic service. Besides that, she has also served as the Ambassador to Norway, Sweden and Finland from 2006 to 2009.

6. Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Namibia (2015)
Saara Kuugongelwa Amadhila Saara, who assumed office on March 21, 2015, is the fourth Prime Minister of Namibia. She is also the member of SWAPO, South West Africa People’s Organization. Apart from that, she has also been the member of National Assembly of Namibia from 1995 and has served as the Finance Minister from 2003 to 2015. In 1980, she went into the exile with SWAPO and later at the age of 15, in 1982, she left her home. She has taken up her graduation degree from Lincoln University in economics.

7. Florence Duperval Guillaume, Haiti (2014)
Florence Duperval Guillaume Florence, before serving as the health Minister of Haiti was named as the Interim Prime Minister of the country after the resignation of Laurent Lamothe. She was inducted into the post to resolve the increasing political crisis because of the delay in election for a long period of time. Under her regimen she has taken up various reforms to improve the deteriorating health condition of the country including HIV treatment, building hospitals and eradicating the Cholera epidemic.

8. Ewa Kopacz, Poland (2014)
Ewa Kopacz Ewa Kopacz, the second female Prime minister of Poland and she sworn in as the Prime Minister in 2014. She was a long time woman protégée of the two times PM Donald Tusk, who picked her for the positions when he resigned in order to serve as the President of the European Council. She did her graduation from the Lublin’s, Medical University and had practiced both general medicine and paediatrics. In 1990s she involved herself in Politics by joining the Freedom Party.

9. Ana Rosario Jara Velásquez, Peru
Ana Rosario Ana Rosario Jara Velásquez, has served as the Prime Minister of Peru from 2014 to 2015. Born in May 1968, is a Lawyer and politician by profession. She has later on acted as the representative of Peruvian National Party. From the year 2011 to 2014, she has been the Minister of Vulnerable population and women. Later on in 2014 she served as the President of council of ministers of Peru and had been to the post till 2015. Born in Ica, Ana had studied Law and Political Science from Saint Aloysius Gonzaga National University.

10. Laimdota Straujuma, Latvia
Laimdota Straujuma Laimdota Straujuma, born on February 24, 1951, an economist by profession has served as the Prime Minister of Latvia from January 2014 to February 2016. Before becoming the Prime Minister of the country, from 2011 to 2014, she has served as the Agriculture Minister of the country. She was the first female to have been inducted in the Government office of the country. She also served as the secretary of the state for Agriculture from 2000 to 2006.